Cool as a Cucumber


 

Leave it to DC to jump from 40 degrees and overcast over the weekend straight to 80 degrees and sunshine today. Rapid fluctuations in weather leave my skin feeling confused, but fortunately I had booked a Sunday afternoon free mini facial at Origins. I like to make appointments about once a season so I can spend some one-on-one time with a consultant going over any new concerns and of course trying out some new products. Origins consultants are always so friendly and professional, helpful without laying on the guilt trip. This time I met with Lindsay, who picked out some products that she thought I’d like to play with. Although I am a faithful user of Origins GinZing eye cream, Lindsay recommended I try Eye Doctor, available at Origins for $32. This cucumber-based eye cream is extremely gentle, and is perfect for when your eyes are feeling a little dry ย and puffy after a long night out (nothing will dehydrate your skin like alcohol) or a weekend of walking around in the early spring cold air. It’s more than just soothing though–Eye Doctor also has ginseng in it, giving your eyes a kick of energy while nourishing at the same time. The scent has light, earthy undertones from the cucumber. Imagine if cucumber spa water came in cream form. Now imagine gently caressing your eyes with this cucumber spa water cream. Sounds pretty nice, doesn’t it? While GinZing will wake you up, Eye Doctor will cool your eyes down after a long day and restore the moisture to the delicate skin in the area above and below. I also learned this trick–let eye doctor chill in the fridge while you are at work, and you’ll come home to an even more refreshing DIY cucumber spa treatment.

Image courtesy of shopstyle.com

8 thoughts on “Cool as a Cucumber

  1. You’re so sweet! Thank you for your kind comments. Love your blog- it’s so inventive and a girl can always use some more beauty tips!! I’ve been in the market for a new eye cream so will try this one!! $32 is a good price for one that works, too! Xoxoxo

    • Thank YOU for visiting, you are so sweet to stop by! I can’t recommend this eye cream enough–it is the perfect balance of moisturizing and energizing. If you end up trying it, I’d love to hear what you think!! xoxo

    • Thank you so much for your comment! Your blog is absolutely gorgeous. I want to frame the picture of the picnic in your post “The Great Outdoors”–it really captures the essence of spring. That is so cool that you are a beauty product developer! If you have any tips/recommendations for things to try, I would love to hear your ideas!! xoxo

    • Thank you so much for the sweet comment! I love visiting your blog–I dream of designing a house one day that incorporates some of the creative elements you highlight. They are so lovely and inspiring!! xoxo

  2. You have no idea how happy you have made me with this blog! I’m such a skincare *DUNCE*…and as I am nearing my 30th…er, getting a little older, I definitely need to step it up! This eye cream sounds like a little slice of heaven…

    P.S. Could you be any cuter??? Thanks for your sweet comment!

  3. Thank you so much for leaving such a nice comment, you really made my day!! I didn’t get hooked on skin care products until just a few years ago…before that it was just water and whatever bar soap was in the shower ๐Ÿ™‚ Not that everyone needs a million fancy products, but there are some really good ones out there that protect your skin and prevent damage. If you have any specific concerns/questions, just let me know! And yes, this eye cream is such a good place to start. It is now part of my after-work relaxation routine. Can’t wait to keep reading your blog! I love the jewelry post you just did, I have the turquoise earrings and absolutely love them. You have such a good eye for colors!

Leave a Reply

